A Writer’s Adventure Pt. 30

 

Discouraged

 

progressHello everyone, after some soul searching, reading, and careful thought, I figured this is a great opportunity to shape this blog for it’s intended, to help people overcome obstacles by reading real experiences.

Let’s do that today.

When A Writer’s Adventure was created, this is what I had in mind, but the blog kind of lost sight. Not to say the information provided wasn’t helpful, I just feel preachy and I don’t like it.

Honestly, when I fail, the last thing I want is to read something preachy, so, in effort to stay away from that realm, I’ll write a short story about my experiences, so that you can make an informative decision, without feeling like you’re being “fussed” at.

The title of this piece is Discouraged

 

Discouraged

By

Eleanor O’Hara

 

After spending forty-three days in New York City, I’m still learning how to handle myself. Successfully maneuvering through the city is a vital skill. Google Maps isn’t always the best navigator, often it takes me the around about way, instead of telling me to walk straight. Now when I use the app, I enlarge the map to see if I can find a better way.

For example, a couple of days ago, I took the A subway train to the financial district. I had business at the consumer affairs building. Using the app, I followed the turns only to realize that I could’ve went straight and reach the same destination, in less time. I don’t blame the app itself, it’s helpful, no doubt, but it’s little things, like these, I try to remember so I can make my life better. Because right now, I need all the help I can get.

Twenty-one days ago I was hired for a job at one of the largest financial institutions in world. I’m still waiting for a training date. My creditors are going ape-shit because I can’t give them a concrete date of when I can pay them. Hell, I wish I knew, too!

In short of hightailing it back to Virginia, I thought long about what to do about my situation. No one likes to call home to say things are terrible, but I did it anyway. Past experience taught me that people who care about me are the ones I should be most honest. There is no sense in creating a fairytale of glitz and glamour when I’m days away from being on the street.

I don’t think about being on the street, in fact, I refuse to let that image form in my mind. It’s not an option. Instead, I keep fighting. Being that I had no clue of when I’d start working, I had to make some cash. Daily I applied for at least ten jobs, conforming my resume to fit each one, whether I was qualified or not.

The most bizarre thing was when I applied to the jobs, I wasn’t feeling it. I didn’t like any of them, except for one and it just happened that I got a response right away. I interviewed, was hired and started work the next day. By then end of the week, I earned $190 – cash.

When I read the ad, I didn’t think I would get a response being, that every comedy internship I applied for didn’t contact me. And instead of an internship, the job was selling comedy show tickets in Times Square. The deepest thought that ran through my mind was, you hate sales, but what harm would it do if you sold just one ticket? Or two? You’d have money.

It wasn’t a hard decision. Yes, I hate selling, but I must love it, at least for right now. Selling is a skill and mine is well-developed or at least I thought.

The next week I was pumped and excited to hit the streets and come home with a couple hundred dollars. I didn’t make anything that day or the next. Being discouraged isn’t part of my character, so I sought to fix this problem immediately. I reflected on my mistakes. I couldn’t close. I asked my manager for some more training.

I think because I asked for help, it came right away. No one was mean or belittled me for sucking. More than ten years ago, I sold cars and one of the sales managers was a pure jerk. Every other word was an insult and he was mad when people didn’t sell. I think that discouraged me from wanting to sell anything ever again.

Then on TV, there are stressed out bosses who do the same. It sucks that this is still common and socially accepted. Anyway, I got the helped I needed right away and I’m getting my mind right, so I can be comfortable with closing. No matter what, I have to make money until the job starts.

Yeah, it sucks that I have to wait for training because they won’t train one person, but I have make a judgment call. One, this is a great position with a reputable company and it will make my resume look great, while I’m in pursuit of building a writing career. Two, if I let the job go, I’d have to start all over again. I jumped through four unpleasant hoops to get the interview.

The company qualified applicants before wasting a single breath of air on them. I endured a series of competency and skill tests after speaking with not one, not two, but three job recruiters. So, I’d be foolish to let the job go because they’re not moving fast enough for me. Now that I have money coming in, they can take as long as they want. My being broke is not their problem, so I can’t be angry. I’m not the first person to wait for training and I won’t be the last. If I’m an asshole about the whole deal, they’ll find someone else. I won’t give them the opportunity.

Just like I won’t give into discouragement. Stuff happens all of the time, but being proactive helps the pain. When I didn’t sell for two days, I asked for help. The only way to overcome my weaknesses is to recognized them and reach out to the right people to make them stronger. Now I don’t suck as bad as before and after today, I’ll suck even less.

My goal is not the best the best ticket seller in Times Square. My goal is to keep a roof over my head, food in my stomach, and work on my writing career. If I don’t lose sight of what’s most important, I will always find a way to work things out.

 

2 thoughts on “A Writer’s Adventure Pt. 30”

  1. Love your inspiration. Obstacle are hard for many people today. For you to share with the world your experience is great. I need this message because I too have been struggling with my own business. Thank you for your encouragement to press forward and look at things differently.

    Like

Leave a Reply

