A Writer’s Adventure Pt. 26 

Motivation

When I think about motivation, I think about what gets me out of bed in the morning. For the past couple of weeks, living in a new city has taken a toll on me and finding the motivation to keep pressing on is hard.

I’ve lived in New York City for almost a month and the struggle is real. Superreal. When obstacles come my way I have to reach deep, down to find the sole reason of my being here.

By reminding myself of my ultimate goal, I keep myself going. With that being said, I’ve relaxed on writing. I’ve allowed myself to become a bit lazy.  motivation-by-michael-jordan-quote

The laziness comes from not being staying focused on my goal, which is different from remembering the goal. I tell myself that I’m tired and than I need to sleep and rest rather than work, when my work is what made me make this incredible move.

Keeping myself motivated to write is more difficult than I imagined. I’m happy to recognize this problem so that I can do something about it.

I don’t accept my lame reasons for not writing. If I don’t write, then all this struggle and strife is for nothing. One thing is true, I refuse to throw all of this away because I don’t feel like it.

Now, it’s gut check time. I know the cause of my lack of motivation and I’ve thought about how to keep myself going.

Many of us fall into this trap, especially when we don’t see any light at the end of the tunnel. For example, I applied for dozens of writing gigs last week and I keep getting rejected.

self-assesment-guide
Buy Now

I spent hours conforming resumes to suit the application and qualifications, and I got nothing. It’s tiring and I could’ve spent those hours producing content.

Short of beating myself up, I stopped.

convivial-suites-epi-1-of-1
Episode 1: 1 of 2

By getting off the hamster wheel, you give yourself time to reflect on what you’re doing. You must give yourself time to analyze your actions so you can figure out if it’s the right move.

One thing was clear, I wasn’t getting any responses. I thought about why. I asked myself why wasn’t I getting calls or emails?

The answer: I had a typo on every resume I sent out. Over a dozen resumes had a typo.

I recovered from this devastating blow by understanding that I’m human, not a machine. Just because I can sit at the computer for hours and hours, doesn’t mean that my brain doesn’t get tired.

Also, it let me know that I need to proofread with fresh eyes. When filling out the applications and writing the resumes, I didn’t take a break. I didn’t even eat.

By recognizing mistakes, you can adjust your habits and become more efficient. When your more efficient, it builds confidence. Confidence increases motivation.

cs-e-1-pt-2
Episode 1: 2 of 2

When you lack motivation, always, always, always identify the problem, so you can know what you need to do to succeed. Don’t accept the fact that you just don’t feel like it today, find out why.

When you lack the motivation to press on, where does it come from?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

