A Writer’s Adventure Pt. 16

Countdown to New York City, Day Minus 2

Besides the hoard of butterflies swarming in my stomach, I’m great. It’s natural to be a ball of nerves when transitioning to new life.

The transition is unlike, the usual, moving from one city to another because now I’m in pursuit of reaching my goals. This is personal.

If I’m in a jam, there’s no one in New York that I can depend on. With this understanding, things are in perspective.

Shaping myself to be self-reliant, has encouraged me not to ask for help, unless it’s an absolute last resort. Meaning, I must exhaust every avenue when solving a problem before I ask anyone for anything. Believing that I don’t have a safety net, make me fearless.

Being fearless keep me aware and makes me self-assess to find my weaknesses. If I don’t like what I see, I adjust, so I keep mind on my goals.

The limitations I have now, keep me from losing me sight of my goals and allows me to keep important things like, my sanity and dignity for the sake of self-preservation.

I’m happy to say that I know where to draw the line. And if you are gearing to following your dreams, take the time to examine yourself, thoroughly, to make sure you’re ready for the battle.

Battle is a strong term to use, but it emphasizes the fight you’ll have with yourself, when you decide to figure out who you are and if you’re capable to take a leap of faith.

 

Self-Assess

If you’re ready to self-assess, congratulations. You may not like what you find, but it’s a start to finding the real you.

Reading many self-improvement books helped me to discover who I was. Despite how much you read, if you don’t apply what you’ve learned, you won’t grow.

Growing is the key. When you have concrete evidence of a problem within yourself, then you must make a conscious decision to change.

For example, if you wish to become a successful writer, what are you doing to reach the goal? What are your habits?

Take anything you wish to conquer, then ask yourself if your daily habits contribute to who you wish to be. If you’re not sure of what you want to be, think about what you love doing and judge if you can make a living.

The goal is to get your creative juices flowing and see yourself in a different light. This is where inspiration starts.

You can say, “I’d love to own my own business,” but is it true? Do you think beyond the statement and wonder what type of business you’d love to own?

I think it was in 2012, when I decided I wanted to be a writer. The passion was always there, but I didn’t know how to go about doing things. When the desire grew and I imagined myself typing away at the computer, I began searching and searching, until the information I wanted came to me.

I didn’t give up.

Later, I majored in creative writing and English with a minor in professional writing, with a specialization in screenwriting. Yeah, that’s a mouthful, but it looks great on a resume.

And yeah, although I’m a writer, I have resume because, my ultimate goal is to be an executive producer and writer of my own TV series. To be that, I’ve got to develop TV production skills to build the resume.

I’m happy that half of the goal is complete; I’ve built a platform and I’m published and I’m building a brand. Now, I must work on the second half. (Hence, the move to where TV happens.) After a lot of research, I considered moving to LA, but the opportunities are better in New York and as a bonus, New York has transit systems.

This milestone is a result of my original self-assessment and I couldn’t be happier because my goal is within reach.

By assessing myself, I discovered who I was and what I wanted. Most of all, I believed I deserved it.

I’ll close with one, hard truth, if you’re happy with yourself, anything is possible.

Become happy.

Self-assess.

Where will you end up in five years?

 

SELF-ASSESSMENT GUIDE

Do you need a boost? Here’s a link to a great self-assessment guide that may open your mind to your potential and help you discover who you are and who you want to be. We all want to be better, right? Buy now for $1.

self-assesment-guide

 

 

Check out other books by Eleanor! Available on Amazon.com!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

