A WRITER’S ADVENTURE PT. 15

Countdown to New York City  – Days Minus Five

5I’m a full-time writer, it’s official.

Reality set in a bit, but not the scary type of reality, it’s the “oh, yeah, I’m so doing this,” type of reality.

There was no sleeping in, I kept my regular production schedule:

  • Up at 3 am, no later than 4
  • Write in Journal, reflect on yesterday and what I did one month ago
  • Write for ten hours.

Granted, it’s more complicated than this, but if you’re new to writing and you’re a little confused on how to get flowing, I’ll share how I produce.

This is exciting because, I created A Writing Adventure to help inspire all writers. Giving practical advice, as I learn it, would be most beneficial and help make you more efficient.

I know what’s it’s like to lack energy. For the last three years, I wrote full time and worked full-time.  So, I understand what it’s like to be in a funk and lose sight of your dreams. I hope this blog gives you a boost, if so, comment and share with other writers.

The first thing on my mind, when I wake, is my current project, my next project, my weekly blog post and the next project. While these are swimming in my head, I have names for them.

For example, in production this week is Convivial Suites: Corporate Takedown, Episode 2: Answered Prayers, the countdown to NYC blog, next week’s CSCT, Episode 3: Untitled and a comedy screenplay, short. Oh, and an untitled woman’s story.

To keep the projects separated, I created a production schedule that allows me to see what I’m doing and how much time I’ve spent on it.

For example, today’s entry looks like this: screenshot-50

For me, this is a life saver, because I can see when I started working. When I stopped working, most of the time, I put in eight hours without realizing it.

The beauty of creating a production schedule is that it allows you see what you put out.

According to the schedule, on January 31, I wrote for about five or six hours. To me, I worked half a day, but when I look at the progress (the produced work), it tells a different story. I’m further along, than anticipated.

When I read CSCT, Episode 2: I knew exactly what it needed and Untitled is shaping into a story. I wrote it longhand and it has many conundrums, so I fix those as I write the 3rd draft. Though I didn’t write this on the sheet, I know what I did.

Setting goals and keeping up with what you produce may help guide you in the right direction. By using a production schedule, you may see areas you need to strengthen, so you have more time to write.

You may find where you’re spending too much time on a project. Making adjustments is easy because you are the boss.

 

HOW TO CREATE A PRODUCTION TABLE

I created this using Word. Begin with a new document.

Click INSERT<TABLE. I started with three rows across and ten down. To add rows, right click INSERT<choose to insert row, ABOVE, BELOW, RIGHT, or LEFT. The instructions are for Windows 10 users. If this doesn’t work for you, use your favorite search engine for instructions on how to create a table.

In efforts to keep things simple, you can write as much as you want inside the boxes on the table. The size adjusts as you enter the information. I find it easier to type bit of information, then make a HARD RETURN to conserve space.

Note: I didn’t intend to show you how to make a production schedule, but I rolled with the punches. So here you go. I hope to give you more cool tips that make your writing life easy.

NEW YORK, NEW YORK

My bags were packed a week ago. I’m set. Final arrangements are being made and I just sit and write until Sunday, so I can go home to write some more.

In the meantime, new writers, keep doing what you do and if you believe in what you do, believe me, you’ll succeed. Never give up or lose focus.

Have you lost focus on your dream? If so, why?

 

In need of a dramatic fast read? Keep up with Convivial Suites. Order now.

Leave a Reply

