A Writing Adventure Pt. 2 – Marketing

A Writing Adventure

Hello readers. There’s 44 days until the launch of my debut suspense novel Master of Manipulation. It will be part of the world forever and as each day passes, a subtle realization settles within my soul.

Unlike anything I’ve attempted before, this project wasn’t made in haste. It’s well=planned, well-written and well-edited. Now I’m forced to flip the coin and complete the second half of this project, which is marketing, a necessary evil.

The coin is flipped and I’m no longer myself, I’m a marketer and I hate it.

Being that I see things objectively, I totally understand why many new self-published authors peddle their products as if it were the last day on Earth.

I’ll let you in on a little secret; when a novel is finished, there’s an incredible feeling of accomplishment that’s corrupted by desperation. If an author is unaware of burdens of marketing, this can and will happen.

Through my research and experience, I’ve concluded that by understanding the marketing process, a writer can regain the feeling of accomplishment by creating a marketing plan.
Sure, it sucks, but it’s important to know how to calm the crazies. It’s so easy to become obsessed with checking the stats of all the platform channels when in reality, they may not matter that much. It’s a great feeling when I see a new like, but will that person buy the book? I know people who like everything on social media and it means zilch.

In addition to calming the crazies, a marketing plan allows writers to set realistic goals and expectations. Truthfully, it’s far better to know only 100 copies will sell, based on the number of subscribers, then expecting to sell thousands without a plan. A plan keeps the felling of devastation at bay. Not setting realistic expectations is welcoming devastation with open arms.

Also, to prevent the shadow of disparity from creeping over to consume the mind, I separate my personal feelings from the novel and followed some smart marketing suggestions.

It’s so easy to drown in the cesspool of information that calls itself The Internet. Almost instantaneously, the mailbox is filled with new subscriptions to articles that basically say the same thing, only written differently.

The trick is to choose one or two successful marketing writers and stick to them. Don’t bog down.

The books I think offer the best value are Sell Your Book Like Wildfire: The Writer’s Guide to Marketing and Publicity by Rob Eagar and Your First 1000 Copies: The Step-by-Step Guide to Marketing Your Book by Tim Grahl. (Click the links to read my reviews of the books.)

I like the books because they’re laid-back, straight forward and they helped me design a feasible marketing plan with ease. Nice.

Initially, sure, I wanted to throw the books across the room because I just wrote my damn book and now I have to sell it, too? It would sell on its own, is what I thought and I believe many debut artists feel this. We’ve poured our heart and soul into this thing, of course it will sell! The harsh reality was, I never thought about selling the book.

This new thought fogged my head, smothering my accomplishment and I wanted to give up. It was too much.

Through the grumbles of discontent, I finished reading the marketing books. Both authors have successful clientele, whose work thrive because they have a clear, workable strategy.

Part of the suggested plan is blogging. I find it humorous to suggest that I, a fiction writer, develop this niche after creating a 300 page story. The marketers suggest that blogs be filled with content in reference to the novel.

That’s daunting, creating more content for the content I’ve created. Suggestions are merely suggested and I’ve decided this wouldn’t work for me because you, the reader, deserve more than recycled content.

You deserve to know what happens on the other side of the coin.

At a snail’s pace, a fan base builds and it’s a wonderful thing. I embrace this because 9 weeks ago, this blog didn’t exist, therefore, I didn’t have a single reader.

The subtle realization is , if I had only one reader, I would behave the same because that one reader took the time to reach out and let me know I offered them something valuable and they’re sticking through this adventure to see how things turn out.

As I chisel through the rubble of an author’s madness, I thank you for taking this journey with me, helping me grow as we learn new things together. Big-high fives to all of you. Thanks.

2 thoughts on “A Writing Adventure Pt. 2 – Marketing”

Leave a Reply

